Virginia Tech® home

2023 Award Winners

2023 award winners

Faculty and student recognitions include:

  • Winner of IISE Manufacturing and Design Division Track Best Student Paper Competition: Rongxuan Wang, James Kong
  • Winner of ProcessMiner Inc. QCRE Data Challenge Competition: Bo Shen, Raghav Gnanasambandam, Jihoon Chung
  • Winner of Data Analytics and Information System Track mobile/web app competition: Rongxuan Wang, Yinan Wang, James Kong
  • Winner of IISE Transactions Data Science, Quality and Reliability Best Paper Competition: Yinan Wang, Weihong "Grace" Guo, Xiaowei Yue
  • Winner of IISE Transactions Design and Manufacturing Best Paper Competition: Yinan Wang, Kaiwen Wang, Wenjun Cai, Xiaowei Yue
  • Finalist of IISE Quality Control and Reliability Engineering (QCRE) Track Best Paper Competition: Jihoon Chung, James Kong
  • Dr. Hamed K. Eldin Oustanding Early Career IE in Academia Award: Xiaowei Yue
  • Innovation in Education Award: Natalie Cherbaka and Kimberly Ellis
  • Frank and Lillian Gilbreth Industrial Engineering Award: Don Taylor

Student award recipients include:

  • Pritsker Doctoral Dissertation Award, 2nd place: Yinan Wang
  • First Place for the James Barany Student Award for Excellence: Jessica Aujla
  • Second Place for the James Barany Student Award for Excellence: Amber Clauss
  • Oustanding Capstone Award, 4th Place: Will Carlyle, Ashley Girod, Drew Martin, Sam Barnes, Zach Schwinger

Student scholarship recipients include:

  • Kathryn Sloan, UPS Minority Student Scholarship
  • Aziz Malouche, Dwight D. Gardner Scholarship
  • Nabil Habib, Dwight D. Gardner Scholarship
  • Emma Grace Woolsey, IISE Council of Fellows Scholarship
  • Ann Osi, John S.W Fargher Scholarship

Ph.D. candidate Alexandria Rossi-Alvarez named the Virginia Tech Graduate Student of the Year

Ph.D. candidate Mohammed Baaoum was recognized with the Graduate Student Service Award

John Luksas won the Outstanding Masters Award, and Raghav Gnanasambandam won the Outstanding Doctor of Philosophy award. 

ISE students recognized with the Outstanding Service Award during Senior Symposium by the ISE Undergraduate Awards Committee include:

  • Avintha Anumolu

  • Amber Clauss

  • Theresa Mull

  • Allison Tieman 

Additional award winners include:

  • Outstanding Academic Achievement Award, presented to Jarrett Johnson

  • Outstanding Junior Award, presented to Kathryn Sloan 

  • Outstanding Senior Award, presented to Jessica Aujla 

  • ISE Advisory Board Don Taylor Leadership Award, presented to Marah Ghanem 

Amber Clauss and Theresa Mull (both B.S. ‘23), and Rongxuan Wang (Ph.D., ‘23)  were awarded national scholarships from Alpha Pi Mu, the honor society for industrial and systems engineering students. Of 11 national scholarships awarded, three belong to Virginia Tech ISE students.


Professor James Kong was recognized as the College of Engineering’s 2023 Outstanding Faculty Mentor award during the Virginia Tech Graduate School Awards Ceremony. 

Two ISE faculty were recognized at the 2023 College of Engineering Dean’s Awards Ceremony.

  •     Natalie Cherbaka, Excellence in Teaching Award
  •     Charlie Klauer, Excellence in Research Award