On April 23, 2019, fifty teams presented innovative engineering design solutions to address problems presented to them by their industry partners. 

Five senior design teams were recognized for outstanding achievement and awarded at the annual Virginia Tech ISE Senior Symposium. 

ISE Advisory Board Chair Dr. Ian Rehmert presented the following awards:

Team Seven

Performance Impact Award: 

Client: Baxter Healthcare 
Project: Waste Reduction in PM Tasks 
Team Members: Mohammed Ali, Glenn Cheatham, and Kirnjot Kaur
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Kimberly Ellis.


Team 31

Innovation and Creativity Award:

Client: Pulaski Grow 
Project: Alternative Energy for Greenhouse 
Team Members: Jamie Demkowski, Koby Johnson,
Elijah Olsen, and Abhishek Singh
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Brian Kleiner


Team 45

Project Management Award:

Client and Project: VT FutureHAUS 
Team Members: Joey Lee, Matt McDougall, and Yunshu Xu
Faculty Advisor: Professor Ken Harmon

Team 14

Application of ISE Tools and/or Methods Award:

Client: Drake Extrusion
Project: Process Control to Reduce Bit Defects
Team Members: Alayna Francis, Jamie Gentile, Caroline Jablonski, and Azmayeen Rahman
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Zhenyu Kong


Team Six

People's Choice Award:

Client: AmeriCare Plus 
Project: All Terrain Walker
Team Members: Will Tickle, Joey Wu, Stella Yan, and Tianlun Zha
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Divya Srinivasan