Virginia Tech Engineering is pleased to announce the College Association of Staff in Engineering (CASE) award winners for the 2019-2020 academic year. These awards recognize staff for their outstanding contributions throughout the year.  Each and every day, every member of the staff across the college is vital to our success and all efforts of the staff are greatly appreciated. 

2019-2020 CASE Award Winners

Jenny Frank Award - Sarah Deisher, Mechanical Engineering

Administrative Award - Akiko Nakata, Industrial and Systems Engineering

Technical Award- Johnny Underwood, Mechanical Engineering



From across the College, impressive nominations were received citing many accomplishments and the impact these individuals make on their area.  Below is a list of the additional nominees for these awards.

Administrative Award:


Mandy Collins, Mechanical Engineering


Victoria Deal, Electrical and Computer Engineering


Amy Hill, Materials Sciences and Engineering

April Keene, Dean’s Office

Andrea Linkous, Chemical Engineering

Kim Medley, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Melissa Nipper, Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics

Hannah Parks, Industrial and Systems Engineering

Stacey Ratcliffe, Chemical Engineering

Sandi Wagner, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Nichole White, Dean’s Office

Technical Award:

Garrett Blankenship, Civil and Environmental Engineering


Steve Edwards, Aerospace and Ocean Engineering

Randall Monk, Mechanical Engineering

Mark Montgomery, Industrial and Systems Engineering

Kelly Snidow, Industrial and Systems Engineering