Virginia Tech®home

Statement on our Commitment to Diversity and Inclusion

Burruss Hall

This message represents a joint statement of the Industrial and Systems Engineering (ISE) Diversity and Inclusion Committee and myself. 

By now, many of you likely have seen the recent message from President Tim Sands and Vice President Menah Pratt Clarke, as well as that of Dean Julia Ross and Associate Dean Bevlee Watford. In response to the extremely disturbing recent events highlighting racial inequities in our country, our university leaders have clearly and unequivocally affirmed our commitment to a diverse and inclusive community. Our leaders’ messages provide a call to action to increase our collective efforts to create an environment that respects and values the voice and perspective of every member. 

In the ISE Department, we are deeply committed to creating a diverse and inclusive community. The mission of the ISE Diversity & Inclusion Committee is to contribute positively to the environment of inclusive excellence for the department, and its objectives include:

  • To monitor and track improvement in the diversity and success of ISE faculty, staff, students, and alumni; To gather benchmark data on representational diversity of other College of Engineering departments and other industrial engineering departments; and
  • To learn about inclusive excellence practices and processes and identify those we can implement in the ISE Department.

Within the ISE Department, we aspire to be a safe haven for all members of our community. While we acknowledge that there is a lot more work to be done, we are committed to build the capacity to have difficult conversations, where we can listen to each other and provide a space for all to grow.  If you would like to share your thoughts, please reach out to myself, or members of the ISE Diversity & Inclusion Committee.


Eileen Van Aken & the ISE Diversity and Inclusion Committee (Rhonda Hawley, Niyousha Hosseinichimeh, Philart Jeon, Denean Kelson, Hannah Parks, Divya Srinivasan, and Paula Van Curen)

We also encourage you all to read the joint statement by President Sands and Vice President Pratt-Clarke highlighted in the VT News.